Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A healthy, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards for the learning, development and care of all children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted registered early years providers must follow the EYFS to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe and Ofsted inspects providers as part of a inspection cycle to ensure that providers are compliant.

The EYFS promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life. The EYFS only applies to schools and early years providers in England.

Children are taught mostly through play and learning experiences using the seven areas of learning which are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

For more information visit www.torbay.gov.uk/early-years-foundation-stage.